System Configuration User Specific Settings

Description
Configuration
Usage
Set user specific value
Review user specific settings
Reset globally and locally

Description

This functionality allows agent users to define their own values for some system configuration settings. These values can be defined in the user preferences section in the new Advanced pane.

Administrators are able to review the user defined values for those settings and reset them if necessary and to forbid or allow user modifications on specific settings.

Configuration

No further configuration needed.

Usage

Set user specific value

Every agent can define a value for a setting using the Personal preferences screen. Once you are in this screen, select the Advanced option in the preferences panel.

Figure 3.79. Accessing the user specific settings

Accessing the user specific settings


Using the navigation widget in the left side bar, select the desired group of settings. Then you can change the value for a specific setting and save it using the check mark button in the right side of the setting widget.

Once you modified a value, it is possible to revert this change using the Reset to default icon button present in the right top corner of the modified setting widget.

Figure 3.80. Reverting a setting to default value

Reverting a setting to default value


Review user specific settings

When a setting is available for user modification, all users are able to set their own values. Depending on the nature of the setting, values can be very different among users, and also compared to the original global value. This package includes an administrative tool to review and delete user set values if needed.

Click on the Show user settings button from the alternative menu on the settings that are enabled to show the Review users setting values screen.

Figure 3.81. Access to user values of a particular setting

Access to user values of a particular setting


On this screen all of the user specific values for the selected setting will be shown. To delete a single value click on the trash can icon in the right corner of every setting widget, or delete all user values for this setting by clicking on the trash icon in the outer setting widget.

Figure 3.82. Usage of the user specific values screen

Usage of the user specific values screen


Reset globally and locally

For the settings that are enabled to hold user values Reset setting feature has been enhanced to either reset the setting completely or just the user values.

Figure 3.83. Access to the setting reset dialog

Access to the setting reset dialog


Clicking on the Reset setting button will display a dialog showing the possible reset options.

Figure 3.84. Choosing the reset scope

Choosing the reset scope