Queues ↔ Auto Responses

Communicating a change in, for example, service times, service levels or other information which would be good for a customer to know when opening a ticket can be a tedious and error-ridden task. Attempting to make sure all departments have the correct information and transmitting this to their customers poses a challenge.

OTRS gives you the power to quickly assign the appropriate automatic responses to any queue, containing pertinent service information, ensuring this information reaches your customers before expectations aren’t reached.

Use this screen to add one or more automatic responses to one or more queues. The management screen is available in the Queues ↔ Auto Responses module of the Ticket Settings group.

Manage Queue-Auto Response Relations

Manage Queue-Auto Response Relations

Manage Queues ↔ Auto Responses Relations

To assign an automatic response to a queue:

  1. Click on a queue in the Queues column.
  2. Select the automatic responses you would like to add the queue to.
  3. Click on the Save or Save and finish button.
Change Auto Response Relations for Queue

Change Auto Response Relations for Queue

Note

It is not possible to assign multiple queues to an automatic response by clicking on the automatic response name. A click on the automatic response will open to the Auto Responses screen.

Note

If several automatic responses or queues are added to the system, use the filter box to find a particular automatic response or queue by just typing the name to filter.

Queues ↔ Auto Responses Settings

The following settings are available when assigning some automatic responses to a queue.

auto reply
This automatic response will be sent to users, if they send a message to the queue.
auto reject
This automatic response will be sent to users, if they send a message to the queue,m but the queue doesn’t accept any message.
auto follow up
This automatic response will be sent to users, if follow up option is enabled.
auto reply/new ticket
This automatic response will be sent to users, if they send the first message of a new ticket to the queue.
auto remove
This automatic response will be sent to users, if the remove option is enabled.

Note

Auto reply, auto reject and auto reply/new ticket mutually cancel each other based on the queue settings. Only one will take effect per queue.